Showing posts with label Johnny Gargano. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Johnny Gargano. Show all posts

Monday, June 17, 2019

The Ultimate NXT Draft: Picks 1-10

It has been three years since Jonah and I did an NXT Fantasy Draft to make our picks of who are going to be the next great superstars in the WWE. Then, about six months ago, we reviewed all of the picks to figure out what went right and what went wrong. We realized three things through this process. First off, very few wrestlers are in NXT from that original draft, and even the ones that are have changed dramatically over the last few years. Second, and more importantly for the strategy of this draft, is that we realized we cannot rely on WWE success to determine the strength of our selections as many of their creative decisions do not optimize their talent. So this draft is not predicting future success as much as it is drafting the wrestlers that we would want to build our organization around. Finally, we decided to be inclusive in this draft so not only will we have NXT and all of the wrestlers at the Performance Center, but we will include everyone over in NXT UK and even 205 Live since all of them are still working to progress in their career.

Today, we focus on the illustrious top 10 picks of the WWE developmental system.

1. Joe selects Matt Riddle
Joe: Jonah was very gracious as he allowed me to have the first selection in this draft. It was very obvious where I was going with this one since I thought he was the best independent wrestler out there since the first time I saw him three years ago at an Evolve show during a work trip. I have never seen any wrestler have “The IT Factor” on the level of Riddle. It’s tough to explain his charisma, but it’s born out of an incredible amount of confidence which helps give him an easy going attitude that somehow makes him feel like a star but incredibly approachable all at the same time.

And this doesn’t even get into his wrestling ability which is off the damn charts. Nobody has transitioned MMA into professional wrestling anywhere near the level of Matt Riddle. He has the striking and submissions down, but he also has a freakish level of strength which I am a total sucker for. I have been lucky enough to be with several different people when they saw Riddle wrestle for the first time, and everybody is blown away by this guy. He’s already the best guy in NXT, might be the best guy in the WWE, and hell, are we sure he’s not the best wrestler in the world? Either way, this is the franchise pick.

Jonah: A great pick, very deserving of the number one spot though I do think you could have gone a couple of different ways. There’s a few guys who are can’t miss prospects, I can’t wait to see how the WWE misses on them once they make it to the main roster. I also was lucky enough to see Matt Riddle at an independent show with Joe, he took on a pick that we will get to later on. It’s the best match I’ve ever seen live and I saw the Revival take on American Alpha. Riddle’s great, I can’t talk trash about this pick, the only thing I can say is I did think about trying to go first so I could take him and break your heart.

2. Jonah selects Velveteen Dream
Jonah: Move over Lex Luger because the Velveteen Dream is the real total package. His charisma is obvious, the guy is incredibly entertaining. His promos are fantastic in that he makes seemingly random feuds seem important. He’s also incredibly talented in the ring, capable of putting on fantastic matches. I know Joe loves Matt Riddle the most, but I think Velveteen Dream is the most complete wrestler in NXT, maybe in the whole damn WWE. Oh and he’s also 23 years old so he’s got a long, long time to continue improving. I already said that the main roster will find a way to screw everyone up, but they’re really going to have to try because Dream is so good on the mic and so good in the ring that he can’t help but get over.

Joe: For me, it gets very blurry after Matt Riddle for the second best guy in this draft. Velveteen Dream, along with a few others were in my mind about who I would want most, but it is clear that Dream is an absolute star. The charisma dwarfs just about anyone in the wrestling business, and as long as he stays away from singing, he’s great in every other aspect. It is amazing to see how fast he has progressed since starting in the WWE Performance Center. His in-ring talent is probably even more fascinating than his mic work since he is not a great professional wrestler in the way that we have become accustomed. He’s not a huge spot guy, but he tells an incredible story out there, and the contrast of what everyone else is doing makes his matches all the more fascinating. I think Jonah’s and my goal is to shit on each other’s picks, but Velveteen Dream is great, not even I can deny that.

3. Jonah selects Johnny Gargano
Jonah: It’s funny you mention Riddle as the best wrestler in NXT and possibly the best wrestler in the world, because Gargano is massively overlooked in the conversation for best in the world. His run of matches over the past three years is almost unbelievable. From DIY tag matches to his singles matches, you can argue that every Takeover match he’s had from Takeover II on is five stars. When you think back of the truly amazing matches in NXT he’s always one half of them. He’s one half of my favorite match of all time, his fight against Andrade at Takeover Philadelphia. He has also shown in this snarky current world of professional wrestling fandom that you can still get over as a pure whitemeat babyface. I’m very sad that he’ll probably be stuck on 205 Live instead of in the main event of RAW or Smackdown where he belongs once he’s eventually called up.

Joe: Johnny Gargano is great. He’s fantastic in the ring, and he’s built a phenomenal fan following. I think he might be the best NXT wrestler in the world, but best wrestler in the world? Eh, I don’t really see it. He’s built for NXT, and when you take him outside of NXT, he’s still great, but size does still matter. He had great runs in Evolve and PWG, but he wasn’t THE guy, so I do question how well his success translates outside of NXT. I’m one of his biggest haters, and I think he’d be really good in any organization, but there are other talents I would rather have when building a roster.

Jonah: Your deep burning hate for Johnny Gargano makes no real sense. The guy is a stud, he’s a star and an unbelievable wrestler. I’ll happily take him.

4. Joe selects Adam Cole
Joe: Speaking of guys better than Johnny Gargano, how about the one who just proved it at Takeover XXV, BAY BAY. I think this was a no-brainer pick as Cole is just as good in the ring as Gargano, but light years ahead of him (and most everybody) on the mic. Everybody loves yelling BOOM and BAY BAY, but you still want to see this guy get his ass kicked when he’s out there as he not only knows how to talk like a heel, but he also knows how to wrestle like one. I will say that his size is obviously just as big as a detriment, but it’s perfect for a chickenshit heel who breaks the rules every chance he gets in order to succeed. Adam Cole is a great pick, and that is undisputed.

Jonah: Adam Cole is a very good wrestler, but he’s not better than Johnny Gargano. Gargano is better in the ring, and while Cole is probably better on the mic, it’s much easier to play dickbag cowardly heel than it is pure babyface. Still, he’s talented and an obvious pick here. Can’t wait to see him and Gargano tear it up on 205 Live in front of hundreds of people.

Joe: I can’t imagine the WWE would try to screw up Adam Cole and make him a cruiserweight, but it does bring up an interesting thought. As far as I know, those NXT deals are three years, and he’s almost two years into his contract. Would it be totally shocking if he turned down a main roster spot to get out of his contract in 2020? Could Being The Elite resurrect him from the dead? Definitely something to consider.

Jonah: The WWE doesn’t try to screw up anyone, it comes completely naturally for them. Adam Cole as an Undertaker character in AEW does sound pretty awesome though.

5. Joe selects WALTER
Joe: And now for a guy whose size is most certainly not an issue, WALTER, a man so large you have to spell his name in all caps. WALTER isn’t going to do any high flying stuff because he doesn’t need to. He’s super clean technically, strong as an ox, and slaps a chest like he is trying to send his opponent’s sternum through their spine. WALTER is awesome. WALTER has stated that he has no interest in going to the WWE main roster as he wants to stay in Europe, wrestle, and have a comfortable life. It will greatly limit his success on a global scale, but for this draft, I don’t have to worry about his European demands and it’s impossible to build the best roster without making this guy a priority.

Jonah: I was definitely planning on ending up with WALTER, but Joe swooped in and took him at number 5 overall. He’s a great wrestler, fun to watch in the ring and his presence is something special. When you see him you think damn, that guy looks like a badass and carries himself like a badass. I will say the one complaint I have about him is that wrestling is supposed to look brutal, not actually be brutal, chopping the hell out of guys chests is impressive but it would be more impressive if it just looked and sounded like he did.

Joe: I disagree. Give me the BRUTALITY.

Jonah: Don’t work yourself into a shoot bro.

6. Jonah selects Montez Ford
Jonah: Montez Ford has been called a future star by both myself and Joe. He’s as good as Cedric Alexander in the ring and about 100 times more charismatic. He’s like a smaller, more athletic Velveteen Dream where you can’t wait to hear what he has to say. His physical chemistry is off the charts too, the dancing, the facial expressions all top notch. He deserves a legitimate main event run, hopefully the recent tag team title win is the start of a real push for him. He also seems like a really down to Earth guy as I watched a WWE exclusive where he pulled a cameraman who had been filming the Street Profits their whole career in NXT to the front of the camera and celebrated their tag team title win with him. Montez, I’m sorry that the best I can hope for is a great 205 Live run for you on the main roster because the WWE will probably want to turn the Street Profits into Crime Time 2.0 and you’re so much better than that.

Joe: Does this hurt? Yeah, it hurts. I love Montez Ford quite a bit, and I wish that I had him for my pretend organization (I should probably remind everyone that despite the way it seems, I am not 12-years-old and actually in my 30s). Ford is the total package, and the sky's the limit for him. As much as I love Ford, I couldn’t justify taking him with my first three picks since he doesn’t have a run as a singles competitor yet, so even though I have no reason to doubt him, I went for sure things where Montez is a whole lot of projection, but I can’t make a definitive claim that anyone has a higher ceiling than him.

7. Jonah selects Kushida
Jonah: So Kushida is one of the best wrestlers in the world, his only downside is that he’s 36 but when in doubt always go with talent. He killed it in New Japan for the past nine years and now he’s in NXT. He’s only had two televised matches so there’s not a lot to go on here, but his reputation precedes him. Besides his professional wrestling success in Japan, he’s also undefeated in MMA. Kushida will make a big splash soon, and in a few months we could be looking back and wondering if he should have gone even earlier.

Joe: I would not say that his only downside is that he’s already 36. He’s also undersized and does not speak fluent English which puts a ceiling on his charisma. Kushida is really good in the ring, but he’s not a guy I could ever fully get into. There are probably a half dozen guys in the New Japan Junior division who I would take over Kushida right now. He is very good, even if he’s not totally my cup of tea, but with WWE’s questionable utilization of Japanese talent, I highly doubt that we will think he should have gone above any of the people drafted ahead of him.

8. Joe selects Kyle O'Reilly
Joe: Here’s a hot take: Kyle O’Reilly is the most entertaining person in NXT. He’s great in the ring, and his promos make me laugh constantly. He doesn’t even have to be talking, and I will bust up laughing at whatever facial reaction O’Reilly is giving in the background. I have to watch Undisputed Era segments twice, because I lose track of all the great stuff being said as I am totally focused on what O’Reilly is doing. I will admit that since he has only been a secondary part of a team, does he have the star quality, or is he just the guy that you love to see who rarely gets to the main event level? I don’t care, because it is impossible to not be entertained by this man, and isn’t that what professional wrestling is all about? If you don’t love Kyle O’Reilly, you don’t love wrestling, and that is undisputed.

Jonah: Kyle O’Reilly has the douchebag persona down so pat I have to wonder how he actually is in real life. Him playing the belt like a guitar is amazing every single time. He’s good in the ring and I think he would be good as a singles star. His striking and submission game looks great, and he should do well. Good pick here, but the risk is he never gets to actually break out.

9. Joe selects Bianca Belair
Joe: This is where things got really tough for me as I think you could make a pretty compelling argument for about eight different people at this slot. I wasn’t totally sure if this was the right pick when I made it, but the more I think about it, the more I like it. Bianca Belair isn’t seen as the top woman in NXT, hell, she just dropped below Mia Yim in the championship pecking order, but nobody has anywhere near the ceiling of Belair. The most simplistic way of looking at Belair is seeing her as black Charlotte Flair. Her physical gifts put her head and shoulders above the competition, and even though she’s a little raw with promos, there are tons of things to love of what she has done so far. She’s still working through a lot of things, but if she gets anywhere near her ceiling, she’s going to be in the conversation for best women’s wrestler in the world. And to me, she’ll always be UN-DUH-FEA-TED.

Jonah: I’m a big fan of Bianca Belair, but I’m not sure if I would have taken her over Baszler. Everything Joe said about her is true, her athleticism and strength are off the charts. She also gives off charisma in her presence. She does need to work on her mic work, but hey she’s in a developmental league. So she’ll be called up next week and given 20 minute promo segments on RAW. Keep on playing to wrestler’s strengths, WWE.

Joe: WWE, I think you’re doing a great job. Now please hire me. Pay me well, do not expect me to move, and I’ve got a four-month old, so I’m only going to travel when I want to travel. But I am willing to get comped WrestleMania tickets this year since it’s 20 minutes from my house. Hit me up, uncensoredwriting@gmail.com.

Jonah: WWE, you’re not doing a great job, your ratings are plummeting and it’s not even football season. Please hire me if you don’t want to have to perform in North Korea to stay profitable.

10. Jonah selects Keith Lee
Jonah: Big dude, great wrestler, tons of charisma that’s Keith Lee. He’s arguably the best “big man” wrestler in the world today, but he also shows off a ton of athleticism inside the ring. He’s a good promo, but he also has that natural charisma where he just seems cool. He’s a face who tells people to bask in his glory and it makes sense coming from him. With his size, wrestling ability and charisma Lee could actually find the most success of anyone on the main roster.

Joe: Yeah, Keith Lee is great. Jonah summed it up pretty damn well, so I have nothing to add on this one. I apologize for not ending with a bang with my comments, but the good news is that it gives everyone extra time to bask in Keith Lee's glory.

Thursday, December 27, 2018

The Ultimate NXT Draft Review: 11-20

In June of 2016, so now nearly two and a half years ago, Lukewarm Jonah and I got together to do an NXT Fantasy Draft. We are going to focus on the NXT roster as the transition from NXT to the main roster or just the progression within NXT provides some fascinating talking points. Although we did a fairly good job, there were definitely some big time misses and some amazing steals. We've already broken down the top 10, so let's look at picks 11-20 today.


11. Joe selects Tye Dillinger
Jonah: Tye Dillinger is awesome, but very underused, kind of like in NXT.  He’s very entertaining and good, not great in the ring. He’s a guy who can be in the midcard for a decade, and could move up if the WWE ever wanted to use him that way.  Solid pick, but there are some people below who are better, he probably moves down about 10, 10, 10 picks in the redraft.


Joe: Yeah, Jonah is correct in everything he said. He just never got a chance to get his character over, and now he’s in the abyss of underutilized WWE talent.


12-13. Jonah selects The Revival
Joe: Well, let me just start by saying Fuck The Revival. But these guys had injury issues at the worst possible time, and WWE has not shown any inclination that they are ready to trust them. They can have great tag matches, but despite the WWE having an overload of tag talent, they can’t seem to utilize more than two teams at a time. Hopefully 2019 turns things around as their matches with DIY, American Alpha, and Authors of Pain will go down as some of the best tag wrestling in WWE history.


But seriously, Fuck The Revival.


Jonah: Joe, FTR stands for Forever the Revival.  They’ve been retweeted by some young bucks quite often these days so if there was heat it’s all gone.  The Revival should be higher on this draft, they’re an incredible tag team, but they’re so horribly used.  I could see them making an impact this next year after a shoutout from Seth Rollins. If the WWE fails them miserably, I can see them being great in AEW.


14-15. Joe selects Nia Jax and Mojo Rawley
Jonah: Nia Jax is pretty over and featured on RAW most weeks.  She is also really good at injuring people, which isn’t a great skill to have.  In her time on the main roster Jax has injured Bayley, Zelina Vega, Alexa Bliss, Charlotte Flair and of course Becky Lynch.  This article isn’t about ragging on Jax, but there has to be a concern if you have a wrestler on your show that isn’t good at keeping her opponents healthy.  That being said, she’s a former champ and this is a good spot for her to get drafted. Mojo, oh Mojo,if you came around 10 to 15 years ago you’d be a huge star, but wrestlers have to be able to wrestle these days.  Mojo isn’t awful, but compared to the immense talent they have company wide, he stands out as not being great. He could be a great opener, using his hypeness and having fun with the kids. Or he could be a main event heel if they made him Triple M and paired him up with Jay Cutler.  In a redraft Mojo falls a decent amount, but he could still have a future.


Joe: Sorry that Jonah is a snowflake who can’t handle Nia Jax getting REAL and hurting people all of the time. But seriously, Nia Jax still has a great presence, seems like a really nice person and is not great at professional wrestling. But with her hanging out with Tamina, she’s basically Ricky Steamboat out there. Mojo won a battle royal once, but yeah, I wish I could have had this pick back.


16-17. Jonah selects Johnny Gargano and Tomasso Ciampa
Joe: When I’m wrong, I say I’m wrong, and boy was I wrong about Johnny Gargano. People freaking loved Johnny Wrestling, and I just saw an undersized guy who was fine. Like, definitely good at wrestling, but I just didn’t see anything special. I did like Ciampa, but with them being a packaged deal, I really had no interest in them, and I was wrong. Gargano’s great. Ciampa’s great. But they’ve been around for three years and still haven’t gotten the call-up, and that is my big concern. What is the WWE going to do with these guys on the main roster?


Jonah: Triple H is just waiting for Vince to give him full control before he calls up Gargano and Ciampa, he saw what he did to Asuka and he will never forget that pain.  Gargano puts on five star matches basically every Takeover, it’s pretty amazing. His character has become well flushed out, and even though I don’t like the white meat babyface turning evil, it seems to be working out for him.  Lost in the talk of how great Gargano is, is how great Ciampa is. He’s the NXT champ, putting on phenomenal matches, and being an amazing heel. No one will survive Ciampa, no one. As a package, these guys are way higher up in the redraft, they’re two main eventers in NXT.  At worst, they should be reunited as a dominant tag team who kills it on whatever show they go to. They should have a good showing on the main roster, but who knows with the booking.


Joe: The good news is that WWE has a far better track record with guys who stay in NXT for a long time as opposed to guys who get quick callups, so hopefully they have a plan for them. If they actually did a better job with 205 Live, these guys would be ideal for that show before bumping up to heavyweight, but if you’re pushing a tiny white guy, I feel like Finn Balor and Daniel Bryan are taking most of the opportunities. But yes, they have been awesome, and I really hope the WWE allows them to continue to be awesome.


18-19. Joe selects Carmella and No Way Jose
Jonah: I underestimated Carmella, and she’s a good pick here.  She’s super annoying as a heel, so annoying that I didn’t think it was possible for her to be a face, but she’s proved herself as a good face.  She’s not excellent in the ring, but she’s passable. She has a good character and she’s entertaining. It’s a solid pick. I thought they were making No Way Jose a guy who was fun outside the ring but could get it done in the ring at the end of his NXT run.  On the main roster they’ve decided to not have him wrestle or be on TV, which seems to be hurting his popularity. If you don’t have anything for the guy, leave him in developmental and let him get better, doesn’t seem like rocket science to me. No Way Jose has to drop in the redraft, but at least he’s got potential.


Joe: Yeah, I really have nothing to add to your analysis of either of them except that Carmella is undefeated in matches where a friend cosplays as her opponent.


20. Jonah selects Elias Samson
Joe: Man, I should have paid attention to what I saw in person instead of what I saw on TV with this guy. Elias was always great at house shows, because he would just tear apart the Largo crowd in his songs, but they never let him do it on NXT, and he was super bland. Then, he got a sudden call-up to the main roster and they gave him full reign, and it’s clear that the WWE thinks he has a bright future. This was an excellent pick, and it really wouldn’t be a shock if you told me he had one of the five best WWE careers of anyone on this list.


Jonah: Yeah, super happy with this pick.  He’s probably in the US/Intercontinental Championship picture, and I could see him winning it at Wrestlemania.  He’s super over, and has actually transitioned to a face, which seemed difficult for him. His heat in Seattle was legitimately the biggest heat any person has had since the Attitude Era.  He’s nothing special in the ring, but he’s good enough. He will have a successful career, unless the WWE screws it up royally, which they probably will. Still a good pick here, he moves up a few spots in the redraft.


Joe: I actually think you are underselling this pick. If you had the choice of Elias or Ciampa or Gargano, don’t you have to go with Elias? He’s done it on the big show and gotten over with what the WWE has given him. He’s shown the biggest trait in being a star and that is being so good at being a heel that the crowd can’t help but cheer for you. I almost feel like we need to come together for a rankings at the end of this thing to really find out where guys should go.


Jonah: I probably am underselling Elias a bit.  He’s entertaining as hell. He’s got a good shot at being a future world champion.

Previous Installments:
Picks 1-10

Thursday, June 9, 2016

The Ultimate WWE NXT Fantasy Draft Review

With Smackdown moving to a live show on Tuesdays, it appears we are going to have a good old-fashioned brand split for the WWE. Instead of waiting for the WWE to pull off a disappointing draft routine, the ultimate tag team, Lukewarm Jonah and Hott Joe, came together this past week to have an old fashioned WWE Fantasy Draft. Our goal is to create the best possible roster to create a successful, moneymaking product.

We knocked out the main roster in parts onetwo, and three, with a review added at the end. But this week, we focus on NXT. With 73 superstars, we had to break it into two parts, with part one earlier this week and part two yesterday. Today is the conclusion where we discuss our thoughts more in-depth and wrap this thing up.

Jonah: So let's get this started, if you were in my position, how would you have handled the first few picks?

Joe: I think you have to go Balor with the first pick. Since he's been around for a while, people have gotten less impressed since he's not the hot new thing anymore, but he's great in the ring, and The Demon gimmick is about as unstoppable as Goldberg. As for the next two, my preference was American Alpha over Joe and Asuka. I'm not a big Samoa Joe fan. Joe's style is based on him being physically dominant, and I just don't know if he can do that when he gets to the main roster and looks small next to guys like Randy Orton. I would have been really bummed if I would not have gotten Alpha. After that Itami makes total sense, but I'm not an Aries guy at all. Did you have any thoughts on how the first nine picks went down?

Also, as I stated last week, the depth of the main roster shocked me, and this week, the lack of depth in NXT shocked me as well. The draft got really interesting for me at 10, what are your thoughts about those 10-20 picks?

Jonah: NXT is very talent heavy at the top.  I decided to go with Finn Balor.  He's got it all.  The look, the gimmick, the in ring talent.  He's a guaranteed star.  10 is definitely where things got interesting.  The picks up until that point are almost all guaranteed stars.  Outside of the top 10, you realize that there's not a lot of people left.  Alexa Bliss is great, and I love Tye Dillinger and have for years.  I wanted a push for him and Jason Jordan back when they were a tag team.  The Revival is still strong tag team, and they should be a tag team for life.  I see them being successful in the future.  I think No Way Jose needs a serious gimmick change, but he's got a good look and is good enough in the ring.  Nobody likes Mojo, and I think you took him too high.  If he comes with Gronk he may be worth that selection.  Carmella was a good pick and I'm a big fan of Gargano and Ciampa and think they'll be the next wrestlers pushed, especially when you look at the terrible depth in NXT.  I think you did great at building your women's division, but I think I got the better overall talent and my tag team division is extremely strong with my two teams.  What are your thoughts on the 10-20 picks?

Joe: Asked for his comments on Jonah, Mojo Rawley repeatedly screamed, "HE AIN'T HYPE," so tough break for you, Jonah. Because I can reunite the Hype Bros with my roster. I obviously acquired a ton of women's talent, so I'll have plenty of people to squash Rosa Mendes and Eva Marie on the main roster. I'm not totally sure what I think about No Way Jose, but there is something there. He's got likability, and that's a valuable commodity. As for your side, Ciampa's solid, but I feel like Gargano gets a lot of credit just because he came from the indy wrestling scene. It's not like he was really a star in any way, it was kind of a random signing, and somebody they care so little about that he can still wrestle on other cards. Having a couple workers like The Revival is good to have around, but I don't think you got your second tag team until later in this draft. So talk about your favorite pick in the 20s, and if it's not TM 61, talk about them instead.

Jonah: I may not be hype, but I'm still a more talented wrestler than Mojo.  Of course my favorite pick in the 20's is TM 61.  Big time tag team that fell way too far.  In a couple of months they'll probably be challenging American Alpha for the NXT tag team titles.  The Revival can't fight American Alpha every month.  That match they had with Gargano and Ciampa was great and announced their arrival.  Who was your favorite pick in the 20s?  For your picks, I like Andrande Almas, I knew you'd take him, but I thought I might be able to steal him away.  Guy has had a lot of success and will be over pretty quickly.  I also maintain that your pick, Tino Sabatelli, has butt implants.

Joe: I never watched TMDK (now TM 61) in their matches overseas, but they are a ton of fun in the ring. Nick Miller (can we change his name so he doesn't share it with a character on New Girl?) and Shane Thorne both have an overwhelming amount of in-ring charisma. Saying all that, I'm still happy with my decision to take Andrade Almas. He is the hottest of fire in the ring, and if this draft would have happened in a two months, he'd be a top-10 pick. Adrienne Reese has the coolest finisher in wrestling and further strengthens my stranglehold on women's wrestling. And considering that Tino has muscles in places that I don't, yeah, those have to be implants. Are there any other wrestlers that have been on television that stand out to you, good or bad? The next 20 picks were filled with wrestlers we have seen for brief periods in one way or another. Is there anybody that stands out to you, good or bad?

Jonah: I relate Nick Miller with the Nick Miller from New Girl.  I hope that's his entire character.  I like my picks of Peyton Royce and Billie Kay.  They've shown plenty of potential to be the next group of women in NXT.  I also put Liv Morgan in there as well.  I think Blake and Murphy were a great steal for you, but Rich Swann will be a big deal in no more than a few months.  Sawyer Fulton has all the potential in the world if they actually decide to use him.  I also like what I've seen out of Chris Gerard, and I've read great things about him.  Alexander Wolfe has looked good in his TV appearances and I've read some great reviews about him.  Tucker Knight is the one guy I don't really like.  I don't like his look and his in ring skills aren't impressive.  I got to see him win a match and was very underwhelmed by him.

Joe: Jonah, I think what this has taught me more than anything is how damn impressive your optimism is. You typed that, "Sawyer Fulton has all the potential in the world." Were you high when you wrote that? Like, he's fine, but the last time I saw him at a house show, he was in a Heavy Metal tag team with Alexander Wolfe. They were basically The Ascension adjacent. And Rich Swann is fine, but I don't think he's destined to be a big deal, unless Ricochet is secretly wearing Rich Swann's skin all of a sudden. Oh man, now I'm being a negative nancy. Liv Morgan and Mandy Rose are both really hot, and Rose does seem to be finding her character. And Tucker Knight used to wear a duck tape diaper, so mad respect for that. Oh, and I almost forgot Hugo Knox. Not sure if you've seen him, but you will love him, as he is a British bodybuilding club dancer, and it is AMAZING. Do you have thoughts on those final 20 picks? There are some super obscure names in there, although there may be some potential as well.

Jonah: Can I find optimism in the last 20 picks?  Of course I can.  Lots of amateur wrestling accomplishments in both our sides.  Some great foreigners, lots of fun stuff.  Now if you want to know who the greatest of the bunch is going to be it's Babatunde Aiyegbusi.  He's a physical marvel that took the same road to the WWE as Brock Lesnar and Roman Reigns, through the Minnesota Vikings.  Jerome Turner is big and has the support of The Rock so he's a guy to watch out for.  Terrance Jean Jaques was an Iowa wrestler and I know that's important, but it's something I feel is teachable.  When you talk about guys who are very impressive based on their appearance I'm going with Dylan Miley.  He looks like a more muscular Rusev.  

Joe: Well, I'll let you be optimistic for both of us, as the only thing I can really add is people are excited about Nikki Storm, but I have only seen her once and couldn't judge a lot off of it.

After 191 picks (118 for main roster), this experiment is finally over. I have to say this has been one of the more fun projects for the blog. I honestly think drug rehab should involve fantasy drafts to replace the highs, because hot damn do I get excited for these things. For NXT, I think it's pretty clear that there will never be a brand split, because I think six months into it, I'd be putting on best-of-7 series with Nakamura and Tucker Knight (it would be a sweep). It seems that 22-25 are the picks we're most excited about. For you, it's TM 61, and for me, I'm already all-in on Andrade "Cien" Almas and Adrienne Reese. Ultimately, I think this one is fairly close, you geared more towards the Indy darlings, and I geared more towards charisma and the ladies. I'm obviously more excited about my roster, but of course I am, I wouldn't have drafted these people if I wasn't.

I don't think we'll ever agree on who had the better main roster, but it's pretty clear that we focused on different things. I focused on mainstream appeal, as I feel that my roster will dominate the second half of the WrestleMania card. With Big Match John, Triple H, Taker, and Brock, the only big match I'm not guaranteed is the World Title match. The downside with my roster is the latter three are part-timers, but I think that could be a benefit as it gives me time to build up guys like Neville and Apollo Crews instead of getting stuck in a rut of main event guys are main event guys and midcard guys are midcard guys.

What are your closing thoughts?

Jonah: Whew 191 picks.  That was fun, I'm glad I found someone as into it as I am.  You have the star power for right now, but as you said your guys are part time.  They're also old as hell.  Undertaker might have one or two more matches in him at most.  Triple H will only wrestle a couple more matches as well, I think at least.  Brock can leave at any time and decide to be President of the United States or whatever his next goal will be.  Cena should be around for another few years, and he's the one I really do feel bad about missing out on, but I missed out on him by taking guys who can main event Wrestlemania for at least the next 10 years.  Don't forget when Cena made his big return this Monday the response was very meh until Styles came out, then the crowd got excited to see the two of them face off.  Owens is just so good at everything.  He's not musclebound, but once he turns face again and is doing planchas to the outside, he'll be hugely over.  Orton is still a huge name, and as you said, Rusev should already be a main eventer and will be around for a long, long time.  The first 16 people that I took are either already main eventing, or are already in the upper midcard.  After that I added lots of talent that has been underused.  My roster is strong top to bottom, from the men's division, to the women's division, to the tag division.  I added to the depth through the NXT draft, but yes we definitely have to keep our rosters together in NXT.  I'd say your draft looks more appealing on paper, but like I said, my first 16 picks are super over and talented.  That's 8 feuds plus an undercard with talented wrestlers.  We are both very strong, and if the draft actually went down this way and had two talented bookers in charge of the roster, the WWE would know what it's like to feel successful again. 

Joe: Can't wait to see how they screw it up.